HEALTH: Putting People First Comes Naturally for Publisher Tina Woods

NATURAL AWAKENINGS' NEW YORK CITY EDITION PUBLISHER TINA WOODS

NATURAL AWAKENINGS’ NEW YORK CITY EDITION PUBLISHER TINA WOODS

ECO-FRIENDLY BUSINESS: Q&A WITH HEALTH MAGAZINE PUBLISHER TINA WOODS

Tina Woods puts a lot of pride in delivering the New York City edition of Natural Awakenings. Often spotted with a stack of magazines in hand and a smile at every stop, she defies what most envision as a typical publisher. “In a day of digital media saturation, it really says a lot that people still love our pages,” Woods shares in the following interview with Tania Fuentez Media ahead of the New York City Green Festival on Earth Day weekend. “There is still value today in having a concrete tangible service where people pick up the paper and get it sometimes directly from my hands as we deliver,” she notes. “… I say hello, look in your eyes, have a conversation about life … I know it sounds simple, but it is a lost service in today’s market.”

NOTE: Photos courtesy of Tina Woods, unless otherwise noted. The New York City Green Festival runs April 19-21 at the Jacob Javits Center. Visit Tina Woods and Natural Awakenings at Booth #105.

TFM: Spring is finally in the air around New York City. Are you looking forward to this year’s Green Festival? How long have you been participating in the event? Is it resonating with a larger audience and why?

TW: Green Festival launched on the scene in NYC last year in 2012. We were thrilled to be part of them along with other green leaders and associates in today’s market. We look forward to the return of Green Festival this year and see the event as a kickoff to spring where like-minded connect. It really is an all around good time!

TFM: What put you on the path you’re on today as an independent magazine publisher? You spent more than 15 years in health care prior to launching the New York City edition of Natural Awakenings. When did you know it was time for a career change? Regrets or fears along the way that you’ve conquered?

TW: I grew up in simpler times when life was easier and honest … hard work, dedication and education were honored. I always wanted to work in a compassionate field and found myself very fulfilled by serving my Bronx community as a social worker assisting the chronically ill. Over my 15 years in health care, I saw huge shifts in the world, as we all have.

The financial state slowly changed our roles as workers for the people to workers for the corporations that were buying up independent health care facilities and operating them as “for-profit” businesses. During that time, physicians also became suppressed, no longer able to operate as their own entity, but now governed by what insurance companies would allow them to do for their patients. And, oddly during this time, society seemed to shift, where there was lack of morale, value and integrity. I slowly found myself working hard for a company’s pocket, outperforming others around me, and being deprived of any reward or acknowledgement for my dedication. It was at that time that I also became aware of natural health and healing and our environment’s vast resources. I suddenly realized I needed to put my time, passion and effort into preventive health care and get out of the final stages of end stage health care.

NA Display

As far as regrets, I’ve had a few. … oh, excuse me, I was singing Frank Sinatra! Life is full of challenges, fears, regrets, but we really can’t dwell on them. We must be lighthearted and easy-going to get through any of them.

TINA WOODS WITH OTHER NATURAL AWAKENINGS PUBLISHERS

TINA WOODS WITH OTHER NATURAL AWAKENINGS PUBLISHERS

TFM: Why does the New York City edition of Natural Awakenings connect with so many people on different levels and stages of their lives (health, fitness, wellness, simplicity)? Amid the current wave of social networking sites and emphasis on digital media, what do you envision for this publication?

Tina Delivery

TINA WOODS SHARES A SMILE ON A DELIVERY RUN

TINA WOODS PICTURED SHARING A SMILE ON DELIVERY RUN

TW: That’s a good question. I even question that myself. Natural Awakenings connected with me so much and made me so happy each time I picked up its pages that I decided to publish it myself. I really feel it is a divine purpose why Natural Awakenings continues to grow and outperform other avenues of health and wellness education.

In a day of digital media saturation, it really says a lot that people still love our pages. We have grown a lot to encompass digital media and social media, but honestly, at the end of the day, most people I meet say … “I picked up your magazine and I loved it.” I don’t envision us needing to do anything different. There is still value today in having a concrete tangible service where people pick up the paper and get it sometimes directly from my hands as we deliver. It’s like old-fashioned milk-man service. I say hello, look in your eyes, have a conversation about life and leave you with the paper of the latest wellness and green events happening in New York. I know it sounds simple, but it is a lost service in today’s market. May we continue to do what we always do … educate with the utmost intention of helping others.

Tina Work

TFM: Organic. All Natural. Vegan. The list could go on forever. How can consumers gain better understanding of such labels? What steps are you taking to ensure your magazine fulfills a substantial need, offering clarity, inspiration and solid information?

TW: It’s pretty easy. Look for one label: USDA Organic. I know there is a lot of confusion out there and if you have advanced knowledge, you can go deeper than this basic rule of thumb, but this simple label is a green light! If you were to meet our CEO, you would be impressed with her sprout garden, nutrition awareness and her basic simplistic means to lead an inspired, authentic life. All our information in our pages passes through her eyes and she would never approve anything that she does not live by wholeheartedly.

TFM: I’m also impressed by your range as a photographer. Describe one of your most rewarding and challenging projects?

TW: I am currently working on a 3-year project with a man who is documenting his stages with cancer and publishing it as an inspirational guide to others who get hit with this diagnosis. In this project, we clearly outline his body form, and the effects cancer has had on his life and his soul, which is evident in his outward expression. I love helping people and hearing their life story and this has been truly meaningful for me to be alongside him through this and to see that he conquered this beast.

TFM: Day-to-day demands, a hectic schedule, pressures at home easily can drain the best of us. What do you do to recharge and find a place of balance?

TW: Easy – keep a calendar for work tasks and make plenty of time for pleasure. It amazes me that people put more emphasis on free-play for their children than they do for themselves. I have so many pleasurable passions, I don’t know where to begin. My favorite – ballroom dancing. I have had the pleasure of training at Dance with Me Studios under the direction of ABC’s Dancing With The Stars professionals, Maksim & Valentin Chmerkovskiy, and Tony Dovolani.

Tina Dance

Dancing is the one activity that is still highly social … no phones, no Internet, just socializing, smiling, dancing and being free. It’s the greatest exercise out there. You can’t dance if you’re not happy and I just love being around people who embrace this philosophy. I also love to play the acoustic guitar, and make time for absolute silence to hear our higher source. And, at times, the greatest balance is to stop doing me and to simply sit down by my son’s side and be with him wherever he is in his life.

DISCLAIMER: Health and wellness material on this blog is provided for informational purposes only and is not intended as medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, cure or to prevent any disease. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. You should consult a qualified health care professional before starting any diet, supplement, home remedy or exercise program, or if you have or suspect you may have a health condition. I encourage individuals to research all avenues for optimal overall wellness.

Recommended:

Natural Awakenings New York City edition: http://www.naturalawakeningsnyc.com/

Green Festival (NYC): http://www.greenfestivals.org/nyc

Dance with Me Studios: Dance with Me Studios

One thought on “HEALTH: Putting People First Comes Naturally for Publisher Tina Woods

  1. Pingback: HEALTH: Putting People First Comes Naturally for Publisher Tina Woods | naturalawakeningsnyc.com

Leave a Reply

Soul of a Gypsy......Welcome to my Journey

wandering, wondering, pondering

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

phoblography

an outlet for my photos

Our Weird and Wonderful World

Some observations from travels

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

REVEAL ILLUSIONS a site by Elin Borg.

But really, everything is nothing.

Views of Norway

From the people at www.visitnorway.com

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Organaholic! Organic Food Blog

Addicted to Organic Food

the chromogenic

serving up fresh analogue photo delights.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

