ART: Abstract Painting Fits Scooter LaForge to a ‘T’

WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE: HIGH FASHION HEARTS POP ART

Scooter LaForge isn’t afraid to let his imagination run wild. One glance at his latest exhibit at the THEODORE:Art gallery in Brooklyn will lure you into an intoxicating fantasy world of color inhabited by witches and goblins and Club Kids … oh my! He also knows a thing or two about fashion. Just ask celebs and rock star royalty like Iggy Pop collecting LaForge’s self-entitled, one-of-a-kind T-shirt collection and clothing line sold exclusively at Patricia Field. Curious about the next big thing in fashion? Find out what LaForge predicts in this exclusive with Tania Fuentez Media.

TFM: So, inquiring minds want to know just who is Scooter LaForge and why is he so unusual (lol … excuse my thinly-veiled 80s/Cyndi Lauper reference).

SCOOTER: I am just an average joe … who happens to have a crazy imagination.

DESIGNER SCOOTER LAFORGE (PICTURED SECOND TO LEFT IN DARK NAVY SWEATER) WITH FRIENDS AT THEODORE:ART EXHIBIT IN BROOKLYN, NY


TFM: I really love your playfully sharp Web site. Describe what’s the inspiration behind it.

SCOOTER: JAPAN was the inspiration behind it. I love my Japanese friends and am REALLY inspired by them!!! My good friend Miss Chihiro designed it!

TFM: How do you meld a sense of whimsy and depth into your high fashion design and painting? Any noteworthy mistakes along the way become masterpieces?

SCOOTER: I make mistakes all the time. I TRY and make mistakes, this is how I discover new ways to paint … my process changes on a daily basis. One day I feel like painting a hyper-realistic painting and the next I am doing color fields or abstracts.

TFM: Fun memory to date of Patricia Field.

SCOOTER: Definitely last year at Fashion Night Out!!! Had a booth set up and painted portraits on T-shirts for tons of really glamorous and beautiful ladies!

TFM: Best way to discover something new about New York?

SCOOTER: Get your walking shoes on and go at least 20 blocks and explore ALONE!

TFM: Do you have a few spots that hold a special place in your heart?

SCOOTER: I love the East Side River park by my apartment in the East Village. I run against the river and take nature walks and clear out my mind.

TFM: Next big trend in fashion? Go out on a limb with this answer!

SCOOTER: The 90s will be back! Mark my words … think tight black, as in George Michael’s “Too Funky” video from 1992.

Recommended:

Scooter LaForge: http://www.scooterlaforge.com/

Patricia Field: http://www.patriciafield.com/

THEODORE:Art exhibit: http://theodoreart.com/exhib-current.html

3 thoughts on “ART: Abstract Painting Fits Scooter LaForge to a ‘T’

Leave a Reply

