DANCE: Dynamic Rockers Going All Out for Anniversary

ARTISTICALLY SPEAKING: Q&A WITH KID GLYDE OF THE DYNAMIC ROCKERS AND MELANIE AGUIRRE

In the following Q&A with Tania Fuentez Media, Victor “Kid Glyde” Alicea and Melanie Aguirre discuss their enthusiasm for dance, music and a significant moment in Hip Hop culture, the 33rd anniversary of the Dynamic Rockers. Workshops, B-boy competitions and an event aimed at raising awareness to save NYC graffiti mecca, 5Pointz in Long Island City, Queens, are slated to celebrate the occasion. “My mentors are many,” Kid Glyde explains. “But the main ones are definitely my father (the Original Glyde), Kid Freeze, Air Borne, Spinner and many more of the older members of the crew Dynamic Rockers.”

Both talented artists are on the same page, focused on advocating positive messages through creative expression. “I see myself inspiring the world through my art as a dancer, actress, singer,” Aguirre says. “I see myself creating things beyond my imagination.”

NOTE: All photos provided by Melanie Aguirre. For more details about events for the Dynamic Rockers’ anniversary, visit http://www.melanieaguirre.com/

TFM: A full list of events ranging from dance battles to workshops are planned for the Dynamic Rockers 33rd anniversary, which is July 12-15. What are some of the high points expected and why is this event so important?

Melanie: Some of the high points for me is “Rep Your Style” at Alvin Ailey. I feel super excited to bring together eight different styles of Hip Hop, House, Poppin, Locking, Waacking, Vogue, Flexing & Hoofing to have all communities of dance under one roof. Another high point is “Just for a Cause” _ this is a battle dedicated to serve for a higher cause. All proceeds will go to four different charities and we’re also bringing awareness to 5 Pointz to become a landmark in New York City.

Kid Glyde: Oh, man?!! I don’t know where to start. It’s going to be an amazing experience for the staff and me. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen at 5Pointz. On July 14th, everyone is coming together “Just For A Cause,” hence the name of the day. All the crews battling will represent different charities. Instead of battling for themselves they will be fighting in something they believe in and fight for. Plus, we have live performances from the famous Shinobi Ninja and Homeboy Sandman. It’s going to be incredible. I can’t wait!!!

TFM: What does dance mean in your life? Describe your area of expertise and how that came to be? Who are your mentors and what is the most valuable lesson you’ve learned from them?

Melanie: Dancing to me is expression and in my life it served me to become more open and face fears in a creative way. My area of expertise in dance is Waacking, Vogue, House, Hustle, Belly Dance and the list goes on … I’m honored to say I’m a rounded dancer. My mentors are Brian Green, Marjory (Smarth), Tyrone Proctor, Ejoe (Wilson), Samantha Diaz and my man, Kid Glyde. They all have taught me different lessons: Brian – to explore movement and history. Marjory – that I am beautiful and that I have to share my talent, gifts and myself to others. Tyrone – he built me to be a better performer and inspires me to be theatrical. Ejoe – to sweat for it and just be. Samantha Diaz – costume, makeup and innovating myself. As for my man – to take risks, train hard and do it from my heart. They all play huge roles in my life and I’m grateful for them.

DYNAMIC DUO: MELANIE AGUIRRE AND KID GLYDE OF THE DYNAMIC ROCKERS

Kid Glyde: I love this question. Dance to me is life. Basically what I go through in my dance is something I can apply in my everyday life. How I struggle and excel in the dance is the same way I handle situations in life. When I dance it’s something I am very passionate about. And it’s something nobody can ever take away from me. NOBODY. My mentors are many. But the main ones are definitely my father (the Original Glyde), Kid Freeze, Air Borne, Spinner and many more of the older members of the crew Dynamic Rockers. My father has taught me to always go hard and to always do your best move first. It’s kind of a “make a good first impression.” Everyone is always watching your first go downs to see how you’re doing before they can face you. Our dance is more mental than physical. Especially when we battle each other.

TFM: Let’s talk music. How essential is the right song in connecting with a dancer? Have you ever surprised yourself and pulled off an unexpected move in the heat of the moment?

Melanie: I’m a sensitive soul so music touches me, it is super essential to have the right song and moment of openness. I have had many moments that I’ve surprised myself and look forward to those moments again.

Kid Glyde: Yea, music is important. Actually dancing to the music is important. A lot of dancers are just doing moves instead of dancing with the music. I love dancing according to the music. And if it’s a song I love, Oh man, you’re in trouble. Music can put me in a moment that I’ll do things I never knew I can do. To me, dancing is all about the music. Especially in the heat of the battle. It’s how we interpret the music with our own arsenal.

TFM: What’s your take on currently popular TV shows such as “So You Think You Can Dance?” “America’s Best Dance Crew,” “Dancing with the Stars” and other similar programs? Do you think they’ll ever come close to conveying real challenges faced by today’s professional dancers (aspiring and established)?

Melanie: As for those TV shows, I think they’re great entertainment, they engage an audience but they don’t convey in depth challenges of dancers. That’s from my experience but then again I haven’t seen an episode in years so I can’t share an updated experience.

Kid Glyde: I think the TV shows are a good outlet for dancers. It’s not the only way a dancer can express themselves. To me, true dancers – especially true B-Boys – can adjust to any circumstance. I feel these shows and movies are a good way for people who really are interested in the dance to get introduced to awesome street dances they never saw before. So it’s good for people getting deep into our culture. And good entertainment for the general public. Will they get close to the real deal of the street essence? Not anytime soon, but our concept will. REP YOUR STYLE baby!

TFM: Looking ahead, where do you see yourself 10-20 years from now?

Melanie: I see myself inspiring the world through my art as a dancer, actress, singer. Touching lives through contribution with charities and to support creating a shift in the world towards harmony. I see myself a world leader, I see myself a mother, I see myself creating things beyond my imagination even as I write this and lastly, I see myself happy.

KID GLYDE AND MELANIE AGUIRRE

Kid Glyde: I see myself traveling the world, sharing the experiences and knowledge I have and still learning from different cultures and dances. I love traveling and it has made me a better dancer. I see myself in the frontier with my partner, Melanie, pushing Urban dances to higher levels. Levels we always dreamed of and beyond. I see myself giving back to many communities and a part of many programs, helping kids and young adults finding different outlets of expression through dance. Man, I see so much. But I rather get on and start working on it instead of talking about it. I’m grateful for life and can’t wait to give back as much as it’s given me. DYNAMIC OUT!!!!

Recommended:

Dynamic Rockers Official Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/DynamicRockers

Alvin Ailey: http://www.alvinailey.org/

5Pointz: http://5ptz.com/graff/

Melanie Aguirre: http://www.melanieaguirre.com/

5Pointz and Dynamic Rockers present Sunday Sessions: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6p4Lwb46UE&feature=relmfu

27 thoughts on “DANCE: Dynamic Rockers Going All Out for Anniversary

  1. Pingback: Shinobi Ninja - Ill Ish | Gashouse Radio

  2. Pingback: Homepage

  3. yippee your site is absolutely informative. I just came here to say that I have a great domain too that you should visit. I’ve learnt lots of valuable information from your site and have updated my site accordingly.

  4. This website is fabulous. I have read every page almost so far. I cant believe how amazing your writing actually are. I would love to talk with you. Please contact me when you can. Much praise

  5. Can’t believe that I haven’t found your website earlier than this. So far, I’ve read through 7 articles and have found them all to be helpful. I’d like to personally say good job. I wish that you can continue writing worthwhile posts. I’ve saved this post for later use and added your feed to my list. Thank you.

  6. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  7. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Many thanks!

  8. This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  9. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  10. Pingback: ART: Getting Back ‘To The Pointz’ and Roots of Hip Hop Culture | TANIA FUENTEZ MEDIA

Leave a Reply

