WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: ‘BEYOND’

CO22

BEYOND

The Daily Post‘s weekly Photo Challenge asks WordPress bloggers to share a photo “which invites the viewer to look beyond” … something I find myself doing often and encourage others to consider. Even my blog’s masthead reflects a philosophy calling for deeper exploration of what’s taken at face value or ignored altogether. Last week, I spent an overcast day at Coney Island _ a trip to Brooklyn that wasn’t planned but felt right as I rode the D train from the Bronx. I hadn’t been there since Hurricane Sandy, and three months later, amid clean-up and recovery efforts, it’s clear damage goes beyond the surface for residents dealing with the aftermath.

I chose a photo snapped at the right time _ a moment of calm after the storm. In the distance, the boardwalk looks like it weathered the worst. Yet, my walk further along the beach and into effected neighborhoods magnified the details. Battered shoreline, scattered debris and mounds of sand in the street are undeniable reminders of how fragile this world can be. Perhaps, this is a birds-eye view asking us to look beyond the obvious clean-up and do something to help those in need.

CO17

7 thoughts on “WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: ‘BEYOND’

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Dibbler Dabbler

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Rebecca Barray

  3. Pingback: 1-24-13 Weekly Photo Challenge Beyond #3 (Going Beyond) « The Quotidian Hudson

  4. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. The article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Rebecca Barray-Writer/ Photographer

Leave a Reply

