FASHION: Iconic Designer Betsey Johnson Gets Real on Mother’s Day

DESIGNER BETSEY JOHNSON (LEFT) AND DAUGHTER, LULU, AT NBC EXPERIENCE STORE.

DESIGNER BETSEY JOHNSON (LEFT) AND DAUGHTER, LULU, AT NBC EXPERIENCE STORE

Betsey Johnson, forever young at heart and ready for a comeback, joins the prime-time pantheon of reality stars Sunday night with a series premiere on Style Network. But, I don’t expect more of the same since XOX Betsey Johnson could easily win over viewers by sheer ingenuity and a few cartwheels thrown in for good measure.

The new show puts a quirky spin on life after bankruptcy, divorce and therapy for the 70-year-old fashion icon and her daughter, Lulu. The pair met with fans Friday at the NBC Experience Store in Rockefeller Plaza, generating lots of buzz ahead of the series’ Mother’s Day début.

XOX5

XOX4

XOX6

“I felt I had lost what I had built and didn’t know if I could continue and get it back,” Betsey Johnson told Reuters in a recent interview. “The filming was such a great, wonderful support system for me when I had kind of failed at the business,” she said. “I think I would have been really miserable if I didn’t have the show because it kept me going and it kept me in the spotlight.”

XOX1

I’m not hooked on most reality TV, but here’s one show that looks promising. And, who doesn’t like a good comeback story … especially in this economy.

Recommended:

Betsey Johnson: http://www.betseyjohnson.com/

Style Network: http://www.stylenetwork.com/

NBC Experience Store: http://www.nbcuniversalstore.com

Leave a Reply

