FASHION: Carving a Niche with Leather Body Harnesses

IMG_0792

NYC UNDERGROUND STYLE IN THE SPOTLIGHT

Keep an eye out for New Yorker Suzie Muñiz, who shows no fear in fashion-forward, minimalist designs. Ditching the status quo, Muñiz represents a more sophisticated street style that may cause a few heads to turn with her hand-crafted leather body harnesses and accessories. She’s excited about what the future holds as an up-and-coming designer and offers a sneak peek for the curious with Tania Fuentez Media. “In terms of art, I am inspired by my love of NYC’s underground House music scene and all its diversity,” she says. “Culturally speaking, I am Puerto Rican and Ecuadorian and I have never been forced to choose. I embody both and MY style transcends both!!”

NOTE: All images courtesy of Suzie Muñiz.

TFM: Tell me all about this edgy new line of designs you’re launching. What was the driving force behind it? How long did the project take to get off the ground?

SM: The line I’m launching consists of hand-crafted leather body harnesses and accessories. I was inspired by adversity and, of course, Hervé Léger by Max Azria! My love for leather and fashion has been the driving force behind my accessory line. I started with leather handbags in mind in 2011, until my idea was compromised. It then evolved into leather harnesses when I made one for myself and wore it out one night and received tremendous feedback. I then started thinking about creating my line, in Nov. 2012, and began executing it in Jan. 2013.

SMHarness

SUZIE MUNIZ (CENTER) WITH MODELS WEARING HER LEATHER BODY HARNESSES

TFM: How has being a part of NYC’s underground art scene inspired you throughout the years? Has your cultural heritage and neighborhood helped guide you along the way and define your style?

SM: In terms of art, I am inspired by my love of NYC’s underground House music scene and all its diversity. Culturally speaking, I am Puerto Rican and Ecuadorian and I have never been forced to choose. I embody both and MY style transcends both!!

TFM: I heard your leather body harnesses have caught the eye of downtown fashion icon Patricia Field! What else is next for you?

SM: Further refining my designs and simultaneously building my website!

Suzie_MG_3720

IMAGE COURTESY OF SUZIE MUNIZ

Suzie_MG_4471

IMAGE COURTESY OF SUZIE MUNIZ

TFM: Summertime looks promising with more avant-garde trends dominating the runways and city streets. Excited about where things are headed and where you fit in?

SM: Without a doubt, I am excited about where my creations will lead me as I continue to carve out my niche in fashion.

TFM: Music plays such a vital part in the soundtrack of our lives. What would be your most valued album of all time? Has music influenced your fashion sense tremendously?

SM: Little Louie Vega‘s Elements of Life CD released in 2003 has touched and influenced me in many ways. It has motivated me and encouraged me to create. Until this very day, it remains a positive source of energy.

SUZIE MUÑIZ DESIGNS

8 thoughts on “FASHION: Carving a Niche with Leather Body Harnesses

  1. Hey! I just noticed your web page: 301 Moved Permanently when I was exploring stumbleupon. It looks as though someone appreciated your website so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll absolutely be coming back here more often.

  2. Pingback: FASHION: Leather Body Harnesses Taking Off for NYC Designer | TANIA FUENTEZ MEDIA

Leave a Reply

