HEALTH: Take the Challenge and Learn Something New in 30 Days

SAND12

CHANGING ONE THING AT A TIME

Few days ago, I glossed over an email from Leo Babauta’s Zen Habits blog asking readers to join the 30-Day Learning Challenge and study one topic for at least 10 minutes a day, every day of the month. Initially uninterested, something struck me as odd. Why not? What was stopping me from wanting to spend a mere 10 minutes to make my life a little better? Absolutely nada, which is why I’m writing today.

“Health and wellness” has become more than a trending catchphrase since diagnosed with severe rheumatoid arthritis. The degenerative autoimmune disease often leaves me immobilized, fatigued and in various stages of chronic pain 24-7. An aggressive regimen of RA medications to manage debilitating symptoms like inflammation, stiffness, decreased muscle strength and joint damage come with a long list of nasty side effects. That said, I am even more determined to live a fuller life as best I can. Integrative holistic alternatives are always on my radar, so expect more posts on the subject. Always on the lookout for ways to improve current circumstances.

First, the 30-Day Challenge sounds fun and encouraging (flying a kite, mastering a new language or cooking technique). Second, you’re never too old to learn something new … my precious mom lived everyday with that in mind. I’m ready to dive in: meditation and Qigong are on the agenda! Changing habits isn’t easy, but you may surprise yourself trying. If needing a nudge, the Zen Habits Sea Change program is a good place to start.

Leave a Reply

